Have I got a pickle for you!

20130123-222500.jpg
I finally got a chance to use my mandolin that my mom got me for Christmas. I’ve never sliced up an entire cucumber that fast in my life! So awesome! I recommend them to every cook and non-cook. Just be careful you don’t catch your fingers, knuckles, or nails on the blade – that could end in disaster, not to mention a spoiled dish.

Speaking of dishes… This is one of my most favorite cucumber dishes that I learned from my momma. One of the most simple recipes I have on hand, yet Oh So Good!! You get that tang from the vinegar, a little sweetness from the sugar, and the same texture as that of a pickled cucumber all in the same delicious bite. Add a few thinly sliced red onions and POW! you’ve got a whole other dimension to this dish. I recommend letting it all chill in the fridge overnight or at least a few hours before serving – although I have eaten it right away before (I couldn’t wait to dig in!!).

Red Wine Vinegar Pickled Cucumbers
Serves 4

1 large seedless Cucumber, peel on, sliced thinly
1/2 Red Onion, thinly sliced Optional

Pickling Liquid:
Equal parts of the following (I usually end up using 1/3 cup measurement):
Red wine vinegar
Water
Sugar

Mix the pickling liquid and marinate the cucumbers in the liquid overnight. Serve chilled.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

